At least, that's how I'm going to run it. At the Hmmm. That could be a hostile creature, … The target must make a Wisdom saving throw. You must log in or register to reply here. (Not administered by or affiliated with Paizo Publishing® … Alternatively, find out what’s trending across all of Reddit on r/popular. First, the target makes a Wis save or is frightened. No one knows of any sage ruling on the matter? As in: Cannot move closer to the caster and takes disadvantage on all attack rolls as long as they're within line of sight of the caster.

The text says "At the start of each of the target's turns before the spell ends..." If the first save is made, the spell ends, so no damage is taken. If they pass that, and were frightened, both effects end. The only spells I know of that kill with a Fort save are death spells. They get 2 saves to avoid any real effect? In which case the spell is pretty bad. What I think would make a solid difference is if the target took damage at the start of its turn, but saved to end the spell at the end. On the other hand even (i)Power Word, Kill(/i) lists the descriptor death though it is a Conjuration (Creation) Spell. Regardless of the outcome, they still make a save at the start of their turn to avoid the 4d10. On a failed save, the target … JavaScript is disabled. See, if that's the case--if making the first save ends the entire spell--then I don't see how As written, it seems clear that it is intended to not take effect beyond that first save.

I read it as the target must fail the initial wisdom save or nothing happens and that success on any of the secondary wisdom saves ends the Frightened condition. On a failed save, the target becomes frightened for the duration. Passionate about something niche? I like this interpretation better.Except the frightened condition doesn't affect saves, unfortunately. The length of the spell is determined by the material created (ie. Asked the Sage

Previously if they had made the second save, they would have suffered no appreciable ill effects (except for disadvantage on any attacks of opportunity made after failing the initial save but before the beginning of their next turn). Lanefan Click to expand... Lidgar Adventurer . For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding. (When it … 7. Should be "at the start of its turn... take 4d10 damage... at end of turn, save vs. That's unfortunate--looks like they made a bad fix. Get a constantly updating feed of breaking news, fun stories, pics, memes, and videos just for you. Pick other spells to serve as alternate killing methods for targets who are immune to your chosen school. 4th-level illusion Casting Time: 1 action Range: 120 feet Components: V, S Duration: Concentration, up to 1 minute You tap into the nightmares of a creature you can see within range and create an illusory manifestation of its deepest fears, visible only to that creature.

My take on it is that the second half goes off no matter what; otherwise, it's way too weak for a 4th-level spell. Could we please have the full, errataed, text. r/Pathfinder_RPG: For info, news, resources, and anything else about the Pathfinder TTRPG! Looks like I misread the errata. I just looked up the spells that apply Frightened and realized, that there is only a few of them (although Level 1 Wrathful Smite does it just as easily). I had a NPC cast it at a PC, expecting the normal amount of terror I'd come to expect from earlier editions... and it was a big, fat non-event. Yes, the confusion was, as I expected, entirely due to looking at bits and pieces separate from the whole. The target must make a Wisdom saving throw. I didn't see anything in the errata about the damage occurring at any time other than if the end-of-turn saves are missed. It's not weaker. On a failed save, the target becomes frightened for the …

I think its supposed to be one save to determine if they are frightened. Phantasmal Killer (p. 265). Reddit gives you the best of the internet in one place.

The frightened target makes a save at the end of its turns, not the start. I'd only seen--and only knew of the existence of--the correction which said the target makes its save at the end of the turn, not the start. See, if that's the case--if making the first save ends the entire spell--then I don't see how This thread does my heart good. Phantasmal Killer – You create a phantom force shaped like the target’s deepest fear. (Page 7, among others, and specifically defined separate from ability checks in Ch. Creation – You can create an item of either vegetable or mineral composure taking up a five foot cube. For this, the target should make a Wisdom saving throw. Phantasmal Killer 4th-level illusion Casting Time: 1 action Range: 120 feet Components: V, S Duration: Concentration, up to 1 minute You tap into the nightmares of a creature you can see within range and create an illusory manifestation of its deepest fears, visible only to that creature. That way, if the first save is failed, you're guaranteed at least one round's worth of fear and damage. Unfortunately, no. You tap into the nightmares of a creature you can seeI read it as the target must fail the initial wisdom save or nothing happens and that success on any of the secondary wisdom saves ends the Frightened condition.

Gems only last 10 … Phantasmal Killer 5e.